It’s official!

Summer is over and fall is on the calendar.

Today marks the Autumnal Equinox in the northern hemisphere, where among other things, the length of night and day across the world is nearly, but not entirely, equal.

In the pasture, fall is making her mark as well.

The horses seem to be spending more time in the large herd, and there is an edgy feel all round.

The grass is brown and nibbled down, so horses are hungrier than when they were in summer’s abundant hock-high green grass.

The evening feeding schedule will soon change to the noontime schedule as the days shorten. Feeding in the dark isn’t my favorite!

When we go to the pasture, I have to remember a jacket or long-sleeved shirt because on many days, by six o’clock there is a distinct nip in the air.

I like the changing of seasons.

It energizes me. In the fall I feel compelled to head to the office supply store to increase my stock of pens, pads of paper, folders and the like. What a holdover from school days.

And I like thinking about making soups and stews instead of summer salads. Fall makes me want to bake, which may not be the best thing for my waistline, but it is good for my soul.

As I switch my thinking from summer to fall, I want to thank the visitors who accompanied us on our nightly feeding forays.

Our two old sweeties and their pals love having company because it means more attention (and yes, more treats) for them. Who wouldn’t like that?

To Jeremy, Wendy, Lukas, Ros, Anne and Kay we send big love and thanks for taking time to share out world.

Happy Autumn!

What do you do to mark the changing of seasons?

Anybody else out there wandering the aisles of  the office supply store?

