This is the urgency: Live! And have your blooming in the noise of the whirlwind.

                           ~ Gwendolyn Brooks

Pepper and I had a heart-to-heart talk the other evening.

It’s not the best picture of either of us (we are much more attractive in person!) BUT, I do think it captures the mood of the moment.

We were hanging out together, enjoying the pinkish-purplish sunset and catching up with each other.

She nibbled her grain and listened, while I did most of the talking. That’s usually how it goes because Pepper is an excellent, non-judgmental listener. And I’m a talker.

A few years back when my husband broke his ankle and had to have surgery, I told Pepper all about it – every gory detail. She patiently listened as I shared my fears.

Never once did she tell me I was silly for being worried. Instead, she allowed me to go on and on, taking it all in, nodding at appropriate moments in her wise-old-mare way. Those feeding/therapy-for-Jean sessions helped me tremendously. When the world felt like it was spinning out of control, spending time with Miss Pepper and crew grounded me and helped me focus on what was real and what was not.

In many ways it’s been a frantic summer for us with a jam-packed schedule. And Pepper has been, shall we say, distracted by her dalliance with Fred.

We haven’t had enough time for girl talk.

Sitting on the back of the pickup beside Pepper as she ate her dinner, reminded me how important it is to stay connected to the people and animals that matter in my life. Those deep relationships that are soothing balm for my world-weary heart.

Why is it that we allow ourselves to become so distracted and busy that we close off one of the most healing avenues available to us?

I’ve done it and I’m guessing you have too.

We cancel lunch dates or never make them. We don’t call because we think there isn’t enough time to get into the kind of deep conversation we crave. We dash off a quick email or text that is supposed to keep us connected. “I miss you,” we say, or “hope everything is okay with you,” or “Let’s get together soon.”

Sometimes we act on the wish to get together, sometimes we don’t.

We expect those meager filaments of electronic well wishes to suffice and maintain our connection until we have more time/energy/availability.

What Pepper has helped me see is that if I wait for that magical time when I have enough time, unlimited energy and a clear schedule, I will miss out on my life.

My true life.

Pepper is the epitome of “blooming in the whirlwind,” and I want to be just like her.

What about you?

Is there someone you’d like to spend time with this weekend?

What does your soul need?

Reach out and get right up there in the noise of your own whirlwind.

Bloom on!

