“The days are long, but the years are short.”

~Gretchen Rubin

The Happiness Project

Life hurtles by us at speeds mere humans cannot even begin to comprehend. All I have to do is look at my son, now a father, to get the full impact of how quickly life moves.

I still feel him in my heart as a boy, playing with Matchbox cars or heading out of the house with a skateboard tucked under his arm. Now instead of a skateboard, he leaves carrying a laptop, smart phone and diaper bag.

 

Where does the time go? I’ve pondered this question before on this blog and in my head. Many times.

The conclusion I’ve reached is this:

The best way to deal with the passing of time is to live each moment as fully as possible.

I am learning to be present in my life – all of my life. So if I’m feeling sad, I let myself be sad. No beating myself up, or shoulding myself out of it. Sad is sad.

The same goes for feeling happy. Happy is happy and I want to soak up and enjoy every morsel of happiness.

And the myriad feelings in between.

I want to live my life in real time.

I want to be fully present with the people and animals and events that are with me in that particular moment.

No more worrying about the future, over which I have minimal control.

No more wallowing in the past, which I cannot change.

It’s a tall order for someone who lives quite comfortably in her head.

But this is my intention and I’m putting it down here in black and white, with you as witnesses to hold me accountable.

I don’t want to miss even a moment of my life.

And I want no regrets, or at least as few as possible, given that I am perfectly imperfect.

Whaddya say?

Join me if you if you’re so inclined, on the amazing journey of being present in our lives.

Let’s embrace all of life Clint Eastwood style: the good, the bad and even the ugly!

Fully present – no regrets!

