If you’ve been following this blog for a while, you know that the summer has brought some drama to the pasture.

And for my new readers, here’s the very quick version.

Pepper left the Herd of Oldsters and got a new “boyfriend.” For a good month, we disliked Beau because as far as we were concerned, he stole her from her friends. And wasn’t very nice about it.

It was horse life in living Technicolor.

And I didn’t like it.

Not one single bit.

They were upsetting my idea of how things should be.

Well, here’s the newsflash that I seem to need to learn.

Yet again!

I’m not in charge.

Let me say it once more.

I am not in charge.

I am nothing more than a participant.

And isn’t that true for each of us?

Really.

The harder we try to assert our will; control the outcome and make things go as we want them to, the more the lesson shows up.

Yes, we have to do our own particular brand of work – whatever that is. I’m not saying that we’re powerless over everything in our lives.

I don’t believe that. But I do believe that we are powerless over events that aren’t really ours to begin with.

Like the natural order of life in the pasture.

And just to drive the point home for me, I can see that the horses are working things out. As horses will do if left on their own.

The bachelors (Bud, Red and Amigo) are beginning to tolerate Beau. They aren’t friends yet, but they are able to be in the same general vicinity.

And Beau, the young hotshot, has learned some respect. He doesn’t chase the bachelors anymore. He’s loosened his grip on Pepper too. There isn’t as much carrying on when she wanders away.

It’s as if all the players have taken a deep breath, settled down and accepted each other.

And you know what?

I’ve done the same.

All is well.

We’ve even started giving Beau a treat or two when he wanders to the fence line.

It’s time we made friends.

About the picture above: I took it this week when we’d just finished with the farrier. I will say it did my heart good to see the four friends lined up.

Just like old times.  (Okay, so I have a little more work to do on the lesson!)

