I like being able to count on things. Take raspberries for example. Every year toward the end of July, I count on the raspberry bushes in my yard ripening. And so far, they do.

Ripen that is.

Sometimes the yield is huge and other times it is much smaller, depending on all sorts of growing variables. The things farmers worry about like weather, water, heat, and bugs.

At my tiny urban “farm,” I can go to the three raspberry bushes we planted several years ago, pluck delicious berries, and pop them in my mouth.

Or if I’m being particularly disciplined, place them in a bowl for later use in a salad, on cereal or in a smoothie, or….

But truth be told, I usually eat them on the spot.

Warm from the sun, dripping juice.

And delicious.

Enter Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar

I’m a big Carol Ann Kates fan. She’s a local foodie who’s developed amazing flavored oils, dipping sauces, vinegars, and salsas. Everything I’ve tried has thrilled me.

Not to mention thrilling my taste buds.

Am I being redundant?

If you live in the area, you can find her line of products at many local stores. She also has a website so that you can purchase her delicious concoctions online.

So I was at the farmer’s market a couple of weeks ago, making my way through the stalls, buying my usual fare of greens, tomatoes, corn and peaches. And tasting all the samples.

At Carol Ann’s booth, I skewered a small chunk of bread on a toothpick and dipped it into Raspberry Balsamic Vinegar.

I was rewarded with something so delicious, so amazing, so raspberry-ish, I couldn’t help myself. I had to purchase it. The clerk suggested drizzling it over vanilla ice cream and then topping with fresh raspberries.

Yeah baby!

Oh my goodness, what can I tell you except Wow! This was delicious.

Tangy and sweet at the same time.

This vinegar is thick, like its been cooked down, though according to the clerk, it hasn’t. It’s perfect for drizzling.

Over greens.

Over ice cream,

Over your tongue.

Really, you owe it to yourself to give this stuff a try.

And as for the raspberries – find a local source and eat your fill.

They’re good for you.

Heart and soul.

 

