Last December after a particularly miserable day feeding the horses in freezing temperatures, blowing snow, and howling wind, I wrote a blog post to Santa Claus.

I asked for a bomber hat to keep my head warm. I also requested world peace, mainly so I wouldn’t appear completely self-centered and clueless about the real needs of the world.

You can read it here if you’re so inclined.

What I didn’t know then, but have since learned many times, is that Santa Claus has an army of elves to help him carry out his important job of wish fulfillment. Even for adult requests.

To my great surprise, I received not one, not two, but three bomber hats for Christmas. Clearly those sweet elves are everywhere! And for the remainder of winter, I had one of the warmest, coziest heads in town. I’m sure of that. I even had choices in terms of which hat to wear.

Technically, while I received three bomber hats in December, only two were actual Christmas gifts. The third, and one I am modeling in the photo above (in ninety-plus degrees), was a very early birthday gift.

My dear friend Rebecca ordered it all the way from Canada. She can sometimes be a stickler for detail and authenticity. When she presented it to me, it was with the caveat that while she was giving it to me in December, it was really for my birthday in July.

And now here it is.

The big day.

My very own “Beatles Birthday.”

I can’t let the day go by without saying how truly blessed I am to have so many people care for me. I have a husband and family and friends that I love with all my heart.

And I have YOU –readers who take time to come to this blog every day to follow the stories I tell about my two old sweeties and their friends. It’s an amazing gift and one I don’t take for granted. Thank you for being part of my online family.

It’s going to be a good day.

A great day.

A day to revel in all the gifts life has to offer.

Happy Birthday to me!

