Wednesdays with Mija

Original photo by Serene Calkins

I consider myself to be a patriotic cat, and love my life here in Colorado. I know the many luxuries that contribute to my wonderful life are available to me because of this great country. I’m American through and through.

But, and this is big, I am NOT a fan of the Fourth of July.

The firecrackers scare me to death. When the booming and whistling begins, I run for safety under the bed. It hurts my ears. I don’t feel safe. I get stressed and worried. I’m pretty sure other cats and dogs have the same experience. I think there are even some humans who agree.

In our neighborhood the fireworks have already started. I just don’t understand the fun in lighting things and listening to/watching them explode.

Please think of your animals before you strike that match and send the next whirring, whizzing, popping, banging, exploding animal torture device into the air. And if you just can’t help yourself, please try to limit the number of things you light and explode.

Your animals will thank you. I will thank you.

Happy Wednesday!

