There’s a lot going on right now out at the pasture. So much that it ‘s going to take me several blog posts to get you completely filled in.

Let’s begin with the biggest problem.

Trouble, oh we got trouble. Right here in River City. And that starts with T and that rhymes with B and that stands for…

Beau.

(Thanks and apologies to The Music Man.)

Dear Diary.

I have a new boyfriend and he is gorgeous – golden with a blonde mane that’s been roached so that it stands up like the bristles on a broom.

He’s young and strong and so exciting. It was all very romantic the way he came in and stole Chickadee and me away from the others.

I do feel bad about Bud because he fought hard to keep me in the Herd of Oldsters. But he lost and now I am with Beau.

He makes me feel young and attractive, like there’s life in this old girl after all. Oh sure there’s talk. Some are saying I’m old enough to be his mother, which I guess is true. Others point out that I’m not being loyal to Bud. I’m sorry about Bud, honestly.

But this is how life works with horses.

And right now all I can think about is Beau.

My people are upset with me. My dad even called me a little hussy. He found Beau and me making out under the tree, which was pretty embarrassing.

He put the halter on (which almost never happens anymore) and made me walk all the way across the pasture to eat my grain.

I wasn’t even that hungry.

All I wanted was to be with Beau. Isn’t that just the most beautiful name?

Beau and Pepper under a tree, k-i-s-s-i-ng….

-Pepper in Love

Tune in tomorrow for the next installment of As the Pasture Turns.

 

