Wednesdays With Mija

“The best thing for being sad,” replied Merlin, beginning to puff and blow, “is to learn something. That’s the only thing that never fails. Learn why the world wags and what wags it. That is the only thing which the mind can never exhaust, never alienate, never be tortured by, never fear or distrust, and never dream of regretting. Learning is the only thing for you. Look what a lot of things there are to learn.”

-T.H. White (The Once and Future King)

I’m not really sad, though I am miffed that it is raining so much.

But I am learning something new.

I’m learning to yodel.

I’ve tried this before, when I was a much younger cat, but I wasn’t very good at it. Yodeling is a skill best suited to senior felines. That’s what I’ve decided.

These days I find that I can yodel at the drop of a hat. I spend my days walking around the house practicing.

Day or night!

In fact, even though my peeps don’t appreciate it all that much, my two best times to yodel are late at night and early in the morning. I can really get my groove on in the wee hours.

Sometimes they will ask me (in a rather snippy tone) to stop, but between you and me, I usually ignore them. I’m not trying to be rude or disrespectful. It’s just that when I feel a yodel about to burst out of me, I simply have to follow through with it.

So far I haven’t worked up to an actual song. I’m still learning the basics. It’s like doing scales on a musical instrument. As the saying goes: practice makes perfect.

What new thing are you learning? Leave a comment and tell me.

About those tuna bites I described last week – we still haven’t made them. Something about graduation parties and yard work. I’m hoping it will happen this weekend but with humans one never knows for sure. I’ll keep you posted.

