“It will be a great day when schools have all the money they need ,

and the Air Force will have to hold a bake sale to buy a bomber.”

-Author unknown

This quotation first came to my attention in the mid to late seventies while the country was still dealing with the war in Viet Nam. At the beginning of that decade I was dealing with Viet Nam in a very personal way. My husband missed our son’s birth because he was in Nam. In fact, they didn’t even meet until some four months later. I wasn’t alone. Many of my generation of friends and family had loved ones in Viet Nam.

It was hard times.

The brutal reality is that war is hard on everyone.

Take a breath, dear readers.

This isn’t going to be a diatribe about war. But I felt that I needed to at least put my experience into a little perspective for you.

What I really want to talk about is the quote, because after all these years, it still rumbles around in my head. Yesterday I wrote that in our community, like most others, the needs are great and the money is short.

It seems that organizations devoted to the arts, animals and human beings in need are often at the short end of the funding line. As a member of this community, I’ve seen many creative and successful campaigns to raise money. While funding may be scarce, creativity is not.

That’s the good news.

So tomorrow, the Fort Collins Symphony is hosting an event to raise money so that it can continue to provide stunning musical experiences for us. It’s a Kentucky Derby party. Yes, this is the horse part of my commentary today!

So you can sip mint juleps, listen to the Queen City Jazz Band, and watch the Run for the Roses on four big screens. You can see symphony supporters decked out in their finest hats and proper race attire.

And you can bid on a homemade pie.

We’re back to holding bake sales!

Photo Credit: Bob Willis

For those of you who know me, you’ll recognize that there is something wrong with this photograph.

It’s my sister decked out in jockey silks and a horse named Buster. As far as I know, neither has been even remotely close to a horse race. Not entirely sure about Buster, since I don’t really know him.

But my sister is no horse person. She will however do almost anything for a good cause!

So she dressed like a jockey and had her picture taken with good old Buster. The Symphony has used it to advertise their event tomorrow.

If you’re interested in giving the Fort Collins Symphony some help, come on out and have a mint julep and bid on a pie. You can find the pertinent details on their website.

P.S. Happy Mother’s Day on Sunday!  

