Wednesdays with Mija

1996 was a very good year.

Everyone seems to be celebrating something around this blog: Bud’s birthday, the one year anniversary of the blog, and Pepper’s birthday is coming up.

Spring is a busy time for us.

I have no idea when my birthday is because I was adopted. You can read that story here if you want a refresher.

I do know when I found my peeps.

My forever home.

It was in April.

That’s what I’m celebrating today.

You can see my adoption photo over there to the left. It was when I still had ears.

What I really want to talk about today is making sure there are no more unwanted cats and dogs in this world. I can tell you from first hand experience that it is terrible to be out in the world all by yourself.

It’s scary.

And lonely.

And dangerous.

And it just plain shouldn’t happen.

That’s why it is so critical to spay/neuter your animals.

(I know this may be a rather delicate subject matter. But please just go with me. This is important stuff.)

Spring is when we start seeing babies.

Kittens, puppies, chicks, bunnies.

And yes, they are cute as all get out.

But unless they have a forever home where they will be wanted, cared for, cherished, and valued members of the family, it isn’t all that great.

Cute will only take you so far.

Then we’re back to scary, lonely, and dangerous.

Please help me spread the word. No more unwanted pets.

