April is National Poetry Month. I can’t believe that I’ve allowed nearly the entire month to slip away without so much as a nod of the head to poetry.

You see, I love poems.

I read them for relaxation, and meditation and inspiration, and the sheer joy of taking the power and beauty of each word into my being.

I keep a book of poetry on my bedside table all the time. That way I can have a little soul vitamin whenever I think of it. When nothing else will do to calm me, or soothe me, or simply make me happy.

It’s a lot to ask of words, and yet they never let me down.

Not once.

So on this Earth Day, I want to share one of my favorite poets with you. You are likely to already know Mary Oliver because she is an amazing, available, influential modern-day poet.

Poppies

The poppies send up their

orange flares, swaying

in the wind, their congregations

are a levitation.

of bright dust, of thin

and lacy leaves.

There isn’t a place

in this world that doesn’t

sooner or later drown

in the indigos of darkness,

but now, for a while,

the roughage

shines like a miracle

as it floats above everything

with its yellow hair.

Of course nothing stops the cold,

black, curved blade

from hooking forward –

of course

loss is the great lesson.

But I also say this: that light

is an invitation

to happiness,

and that happiness,

when it’s done right,

is a kind of holiness,

palpable and redemptive.

Inside the bright fields,

touched by their rough and spongy gold,

I am washed and washed

in the river

of earthly delight-

and what are you going to do –

what can you do

about it-

deep, blue night?

“Happiness, when it’s done right is a kind of holiness….” Oh my God I love that!

Do you have a favorite poet? A favorite poem? Line from a poem?

I’d love to hear…

