Photo Credit: Bigstock Photos

One year ago today, Two Old Horses and Me went live. After thinking about publishing a blog for nearly a year, I sat down at the computer one evening and rather impulsively (if one can use the word impulsive after a year’s worth of pondering) started writing.

I had no idea where it would take me. My only plan was to challenge myself to see if I could actually write something of interest five days a week.

And stick to the plan.

Because those of you who’ve followed the blog for a while may have gleaned that routine is not my strong suit.

252 posts later…

I’m proud to say that with a few exceptions, I’ve published a post Monday through Friday nearly every week. That adds up to a whopping 252 posts.

But What Will I Write About?

I knew I wanted to write about how my two old sweeties, and later my equally sweet earless cat, teach me every day about commitment, family, and aging with grace.

Along the way I’ve introduced you to the herd of oldsters and told stories about life in the pasture, shared a good bit about myself, and even offered up some recipes.

A blog is really about  readers

Through it all, you’ve been there for me.

Reading.

Commenting.

Urging me on.

And that means the world to me. Just as the experts suggest, blogging does indeed establish a community. You’ve become part of our pasture family. I‘ve heard from some of you that you start your day with us, checking in, with your cup of coffee in hand, to see what’s happening with Bud, Pepper and crew. And Mija, of course.

Can’t forget her!

Through your comments and in person, you’ve told me how much you like the blog. And I must confess, it’s music to my ears.

I write for that connection with you.

The sense of community we’ve built.

The interactions we share.

Thank you so very much!

 

What Now?

Keep writing.

Keep telling stories about my two old sweeties, the herd of oldsters and Mija.

Continue to explore what it means to live life to the fullest and age with grace and integrity.

Continue to connect with YOU.

The Big Give Away

To celebrate my one year birthday, I’m giving away this awesome mug from the folks at Life is Good. One of you will be able to start your day with Two Old Horses and Me, and sip your coffee or tea from this mug.

 

All you have to do is leave a comment below and tell me what it is that draws you to this blog. What keeps you coming back to read the next installment? And if you’re new here, what brought you? Are you a cat lover? Horse lover? Jean lover? Do you like my style of writing? Have you bonded with the herd of oldsters? What makes you want to spend time with us?

 

(While this may appear to be a shameless ploy for positive feedback, it is also market research. I want to know what you like so I can continue to provide it.)

We’ll use a random number generator to choose the winner and I’ll announce it on Friday.

Don’t be shy.

Tell me what you like.

It’s a very cool mug.

 

And most of all,  from the bottom of our collective hearts – equine, feline and human, we send you a huge, ginormous, larger than life,  THANK YOU!

 

 

 

 

 

 

