Springtime sky at the pasture

I was recently at a cocktail party hosted by a local non-profit organization. They held it at a bank with a great view of the city.

There was a good group of people to enjoy the live music, and a delicious spread of food.

I held a glass of wine as I mingled with the other guests.

What I really wanted to do was get something to eat.

But I didn’t want to appear too eager, or too hungry.

Why is it that people don’t actually eat at these events?

I’ve never totally understood that. An organization goes all out on food and drink and sets the time for the event right at the dinner hour, only to have guests barely nibble at the food.

I really don’t get it, but it is probably a topic for a different blog. Or at least a separate post.

So I was sipping my wine, enjoying the music, and scoping out the food when I bumped in to Steve, a friend from the pasture. He was also hanging out close to the food.

“How’s Bud doin?” he asked.

I smiled. It was good to see someone from my horse world.

“Oh he’s had the best winter,” I answered. “Just turned twenty-eight.”

Steve nodded. “He looks like he could go another twenty-eight with no problem.”

I then asked about his horse, a youngster named Slick. I learned that he’d removed Slick from the pasture and was keeping him in a paddock for a few months. Last year he’d foundered really badly, and Steve is convinced it was because of the rich pasture grass.

We continued to chatter on about our horses and the boarding facility where they live. My sister joined us and tried to engage in the conversation, but she isn’t much of a horse person. And there is a limit to the interest value of pasture grass, equine illnesses, and barn gossip when you have no earthly idea what any of it means.

She politely excused herself and after a few more minutes of horse talk, Steve and I ended our conversation. He left in search of something to drink and I decided to tackle the food table.

It reminded me (again) of the amazing value of community. How people with shared interests love to talk about their passions and be with others who do the same.

And how if you don’t share that particular passion, the conversation quickly becomes boring.

Aren’t we an interesting species?

 

 

 

 

