I’m just back from a long weekend visiting my son and his family. It’s my excuse for not having a blog post yesterday, and I think it’s a good one.

I was caught in the “baby vortex.”

We were having so much fun together, and I was totally focused on being in that moment, with those people. It was a perfect example of the 1970’s Ram Dass book and admonition to Be Here Now! That’s exactly where I was – flying in my grandson’s orbit.

it was delicious.

Fun.

Relaxing.

Stimulating.

Heartwarming.

Tender.

Funny.

Magical.

Children are wise teachers, if only we take the time to listen. Here are a few of the gems I remembered/learned this weekend:

  • Take delight in everything around you.
  • Keep trying until you master the thing that challenges you.
  • When in doubt, smile. It’s the best currency around, though waving is an excellent second.
  • Be bold. Take risks.
  • Eat when you’re hungry; sleep when you’re tired.
  • Learn to trust.
  • Shower the people you love with love.
  • Learn something new each day.
  • Get the most out of every moment.
  • Be gloriously, wonderfully yourself.

Anything you’d add from your own experience of being totally in the moment? I’d love to hear.

