I’m on a mustang theme this week. Don’t ask me why, because I couldn’t give you an answer.

I just am is the best I can come up with!

 

A couple of months ago when I was out feeding, Red’s people were there too.

He was getting the full spa treatment – grooming, hoof picking, and his most current round of shots.

And he was munching away on a pan of grain.

He was one happy boy.

And that made me happy.

I’m always pleased when anyone in our herd of oldsters gets special treatment.

They’ve earned it.

 

So on this particular day, Red’s people were telling me stories about this gnarly old boy.

It was clear they’d had many good times together.

Red was a darned good cutting horse in his younger days.

And a mountain horse extraordinaire.

Apparently one afternoon after a nice day of riding in the mountains, Red and his peeps were heading home. They were driving down one of those winding mountain roads at around forty-five miles per hour when the driver looked in his rearview mirror and noticed the traffic behind him had come to a dead stop.

 

Then he thought he saw his horse on the road.

 

“What the heck?”

He slammed on the brakes and jumped out of the truck to investigate.

Sure enough, Red was on the road, looking a bit dazed.

One of the other drivers reported that the door of the trailer came open, and Red backed out.

At forty-five miles per hour!

 

This could have ended very badly. But it didn’t.

The story is that Red sort of bounced out of the trailer, and then shook his head as if to say, “Watch that first step. It’s a doozy!”

No One Was Hurt

Thank God the other drivers were alert and no one, horse or human, was hurt.

Now this alone would be an amazing story. But wait, as they say on late night television infomercials, there’s more!

 

This amazing horse was led right back into the trailer.

 

Horse people everywhere will be shaking their heads and saying, “No way!”

But it’s true.

At least according to the story I was told.

 

That sweet mustang stepped into the trailer.

He didn’t balk or pull away.

He got in like it was no big deal.

 

And that may be the biggest miracle of all in this story.

Getting horses into trailers isn’t always so easy.

And after being bounced out of one?

The odds aren’t good.

 

But Red did it.

 

When life knocks you down, you can either stand on the road complaining, or get back in the trailer and keep going.

 

P.S. I’m not one hundred percent sure this story is true, but I‘m passing it on to you just as I heard it. And knowing Red as I do, I believe it!

 

 

 

