Thought Bubbles by Two Sisters Mosaics

Among the many things that draw my interest and keep me busy these days, is the ancient art form of mosaic. Five years ago my sister and I began making contemporary glass mosaic under the name Two Sisters Mosaics.

It has been one of the most gratifying endeavors I’ve ever undertaken. This may sound somewhat melodramatic, and I apologize in advance, but I believe I’ve been preparing to do mosaic my entire life.

I’ve dabbled in needlework, quilt making, collage, mixed media assemblage, and scrapbooking. And each has come in quite handy, as I’ve learned to cut pieces of glass and glue them into a beautiful design.

The Masks at the Museum of Art

For the last four years, Two Sisters Mosaics has participated in a fundraising event for the Fort Collins Museum of Art. Artists and community members are given a blank mask and invited to decorate it.

You Could Have One!

The finished masks are put on display at the museum and auctioned to the highest bidder. Most are done in a silent auction format, and a few are selected for a live auction and gala event hosted by the museum.

This year, the show opens the first of April with the masks on display for the whole month.

The gala event and auction is on April 30th. If you live in the area, you really should treat yourself to see this exhibit. It’s always amazing to see the depth and breadth of creativity from the participants.

My sister and I have worked out a system where we alternate years conceptualizing the mask design and doing the bulk of the work. It is simply too small a canvas for both of us to work at the same time. This happened to be my year.

Thought Bubbles

I wanted this year’s mask to represent the thousands of thoughts that exist in a person’s mind every day. The deep, connected thoughts as well as the random ones that flit through one’s head without ever sticking.

The piece is entitled “Thought Bubbles.”  It’s gorgeous in person (if I do say so myself!) The mask looks like melted chocolate and each turquoise stone and bead represents a thought.

I hope you’ll take a trip to the museum to see it.

And the others.

Of course, I’d love it if you place a bid.

P. S. Leave a comment and tell me what you think 🙂

 

 

