“Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the number of moments that take our breath away.”

-anonymous

 

This is my son at a children’s museum with his son. They’re trying on space helmets. When I first saw this picture, I melted. My eyes filled with tears. It’s just so sweet.

It evokes a feeling that’s difficult to describe – this circularity of seeing your own child become a parent.

A good parent.

I offer little prayers of gratitude every day for this fledgling family that I love so much.

They are doing such a fabulous job.

And when the news of the day is often so bleak, so violent, so sad, so discouraging, I turn to comforting images of a new father who is willing to look a bit silly as he plays with his young son.

Somehow it balances out the negativity and lifts my spirits. It reminds me that all is well.

Perhaps it will do the same for you.

P.S. It’s Fat Tuesday for those who notice such things.

Les Bon Temps Roullez!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

