My window on the world.

If you’ve been reading between the lines in my recent posts, you may have picked up that I am feeling swamped.

Busy.

Too busy really.

Overwhelmed with a project that has literally worn me out.

I’ve also been preparing to lead a workshop on forgiveness.

It isn’t wearing me out. It’s energizing me.

As I’ve put together the two-day program, I turned to one of my all-time best resources and healers.

Poetry.

And in that genre, one of my favorites is the poet Mary Oliver.

So I’m going along choosing poems that might be right for the workshop, grooving on the poetry, feeling soothed and nurtured, happy to be back with my old and dear friend, when I read the following line from one of Oliver’s poems, “Have You Ever Tried to Enter the Long Branches?”

It literally smacked me upside the head.

In fact, I can’t get it out of my head.

Poetry has a way of doing that, if you just allow it to.

Here’s the line:

 

“Listen, are you breathing just a little and calling it a life?”

 

See what I mean?

It stopped me in my tracks.

All this busyness isn’t a life. Not the life I want. And I must ask myself the hard questions. The ones that keep me up at night.

A question like, “Do I honestly want the one hour I spend each day with the horses to be my only spiritual, life-giving oasis in the craziness of the world?”

Of course, the answer is no.

But how to get there?

 

I’ve got some thinking to do.

How about you?

 


 

