Three Friends: Red, Baby, Pepper

I’ve written about the meditative aspects of my time with the horses on several other occasions.

Here are a few examples if you’d like to wander down memory lane.

Pasture Zen

Horse Therapy

A Summer Evening in the Pasture

It’s a Beautiful World

This past Saturday I had a lovely grace moment in the pasture.

So This is Why They Call it Work!

It has been a rough few weeks (months?) for me in terms of a work project. I’ve felt like a gerbil running on a wheel. I run and run and run, but at the end of each day, I can’t see any progress, except my exhaustion.

Apparently they’ve named it work for a reason!

So late in the day on Friday, I had a breakthrough of sorts. At least I could see a small shift.

I began to breathe a bit easier.

I slept all night for the first time in a long while.

I felt infinitely more relaxed.

A Saturday Filled With Grace

Then Saturday was a glorious day. The wind of the past two days had died down. The sun and fifty degree temperatures warmed the horses and me.

The pasture glowed in a golden, sunny light.

I spent longer than usual hanging out with my horse friends. I brushed Bud and Pepper as they ate. I handed out numerous alfalfa cubes to the herd of oldsters.

I talked to them and they listened. Horses are excellent listeners.

I sang to them.

I could be kidding myself, but I think they are especially fond of the oldies rock and roll songs.

It was a mellow afternoon, and the stress just oozed out of my body.

My Friend Joe

When I finally packed up the horse gear and drove off, I had to stop the car to close one of the gates. I saw a horse and rider in the adjoining pasture and I waved, though I wasn’t sure who it was.

As they came closer, I saw that is was Old Joe, the other spotted horse in the herd. We’d named him Griz when we first met him, before we knew his real name. He sometimes hangs out with the oldsters.

“I think he wants to see you,” the man said.

Indeed, Joe was making his way toward me to say hello. So I stroked his neck and asked him how life was going for him. I also talked to the man who sat atop Joe.

“He likes you,” the man said.

“I like him too,” I answered.

After a few minutes of chitchat and horse petting, I drove off, and Joe and his rider went on their way.

I was so touched that Joe recognized me and came to say hello.

It was just the sweetest moment.

To the herd of oldsters and Old Joe, I just want to say this:

Thanks Guys! You’ve enriched my life in ways I never could have imagined.

