I’ve been thinking about making snow ice cream. My timing is a little off though, because our recent stretch of warm weather has melted all the lovely piles of snow.

But in case it snows again, and it is likely to do just that, we’ll be ready.

Snow ice cream is an experience and fond memory from my childhood. In Cheyenne, Wyoming we had plenty of snow, so coming up with the main ingredient was never an issue.

A few days ago when we still had snow in the pasture, I watched Pepper and Red put their heads into the snow and slurp up frosty bites. They had snow moustaches, much like the old milk mustache we used to get as kids.

Remember?

Please tell me you remember. I’m not the Lone Ranger on this am I?

Watching Pepper and Red eating snow revived my taste for snow ice cream.

Here’s how you make it:

Scoop up a bunch of snow and place it in a bowl. (Avoid yellow snow, but then I didn’t really need to say that did I? You also want to avoid snow with dirt or other debris. We’re looking for clean, white, and “pure as the driven snow” kind of snow.)

Add a splash or two of cream or half and half and sugar to taste.

I recently saw a recipe where they used a can of sweetened condensed milk in place of the cream and sugar. While we didn’t use condensed milk all those years ago in Cheyenne, who could go wrong with that yummy concoction?

Add a dash of vanilla and mix well.

You could add fruit if you’re so inclined.

Voila! You have delicious ice cream.

Has anybody out there tried this?

It’s an important sociological/culinary question that needs exploration. We wouldn’t want people to forget snow ice cream.

Would we?


 

 

