Yes, I was rolling in the dirt. Why do you ask?

Wednesdays with Mija

It’s almost Valentine’s Day and I’m in the mood to send out love.

Love to you who drop by the blog to visit me every week.

Love to my peeps who take such good care of me.

And big love to all the folks out there in the world who provide shelter and safety for animals that don’t have a forever home.

Yet.

You may remember my story. If you want the full version you can read it by following the link below. The short version is that I was abandoned. Left alone when the people I first lived with moved. They moved and left me by myself outside to fend for myself!

Mija’s Story

Excuse me while I say this, but they were jerks.

My adopted brother Maxwell was thrown out of a moving car on to a busy road when he was a tiny kitten. Not yet even weaned, except that hurtling through space from a car driving forty miles and hour will wean you in a New York minute.

Maxwell’s Story

Obviously these people didn’t know there are organizations that will take cats and find them a good home. They rescue cats. Rescue!! The word is music to my ears – that is the part of my ears that I still have  :-).

As far as I’m concerned, people who rescue animals are special heroes. They are the best. They know how terrible it is to be alone and hungry and scared. And they help. Really help.

So I’ve been told that rescue organizations always need money to buy food and litter and toys. They need to pay for rent and electric bills and water and whatever else humans need to keep a house running and keep lost and abandoned cats safe.

If you can, give them a Valentine this week. Find out what supplies they can use right now, and drop by with care package. Or give them some money, if you have a little extra. I know they will appreciate it. And so will all the cats whose lives you help make better.

Can you think of a better way to celebrate Valentine’s Day?

I can’t either.

Happy Wednesday!

P.S. If you live in Fort Collins, check out Fort Collins Cat Rescue. They do great work!

