Wednesdays With Mija

One afternoon, weeks ago when the weather started turning cold, I went looking for Mija. I hadn’t seen or heard from her in hours and I was getting concerned.

I checked all the usual hangouts-on the bed, under the bed, and any puddle of sun that had splashed onto the floor.

No Mija.

Where was she?

That’s when I happened to notice a peculiar, cat-shaped lump in a sheepskin throw that we keep folded at the foot of our bed.

I ran my hand across the lump and it made a noise. It wasn’t exactly a meow. It was more like a swear word.

So that’s where she hides on these cold days.

Nearly every day since, I notice that Mija has wriggled into the folds of the fleece.

It’s her late morning to mid-afternoon routine.

She’s always been a burrowing girl. She loves to snuggle under the covers in bed with us. She’s been known to crawl into a pile of laundry fresh from the dryer. (She’s smart enough to know to avoid the dirty laundry!) In the photo above she’s snuggled into a clean pair of jeans.

Me too!

I’ve also fallen in love with fleece, though you’ll be relieved to know I’m not burrowing into a blanket.

I have three fleece pullover tops that have become my winter uniform. Honestly, it’s a rare day that I’m not wearing one of them at least for some part of the day. The tops are cozy, have no bulk, and they keep me warm without ever being too hot.

 

So there you have it-Mija and I are spending our winter cocooned in fleece. How are you keeping warm?

 

Happy Wednesday!

 

 

 

