Wednesdays With Mija

 

They did it to me again. And so soon after the last time!

Off they went to who knows where, leaving me to deal with the cat sitter.

And, mind you it was over Christmas.

That definitely did not sit so well with me.

I had plans for the holidays.

Cuddling by the fireplace.

Playing with my toys.

And taking long, cozy naps together.

Well, as you can imagine, none of that happened. My cat sitter is nice enough, but she isn’t my family. She’s a stranger.

A paid caregiver.

And she doesn’t know my routine.

Take yesterday for example.

I didn’t get my dinner until nine o’clock at night.

NINE O’CLOCK!!

My usual dinner hour is no later than six. Are you beginning to see why I was peeved?

I had this elaborate plan to snub them when they did arrive home.

I wasn’t going to even notice their presence. I’d yawn, stretch and casually glance in their direction.

“Oh, it’s you,” was the most I’d planned to say. I  was going to give them the cold cat shoulder. Make them suffer a bit.

Then they swooped in, all smiles and soft words. And darn it, I was so glad to see them.

“You’re here,” I meowed.

“Finally.”

They picked me up, stroked my fur and gave me my dinner.

“Oh you poor baby. You must be starved.”

Well how could I keep my pout going with that kind of attention?

And then I started purring. I couldn’t help it.

I was sooooo glad to see them.

So much for the cold cat shoulder.

I’ll save it for another time.

For now, all is well in my world.

I hope that’s true for you too.

Happy New Year!!

 

 

 

 

 

