My dear friend Rebecca gave me this bookmark card for my birthday a couple of months ago. I actually received several western-themed gifts. I think people were relieved to have a theme for me. Until I started the blog I was “un-themed,” even though I’ve been feeding my two old sweeties and caring for them for many years. The blog provided direction and focus.

Apparently people like that.

I’m thrilled to finally fit in somewhere, though truth be told, I don’t fit so neatly into the western, horsewoman theme. If you’ve been reading me for a while, I’m sure you’d agree.

I do love cowgirls though.

But back to my birthday card. This is a clever concept. The artist, Shari Jenkins Schmit is a digital collage artist from Butte, Montana. She uses wonderful vintage images and combines them with snappy quotations. In case you can’t read the writing on my card, it says,

“I’ve been so busy…  I don’t know if I found a rope or lost my horse!”

The cards are made from recycled materials and intended to be used as bookmarks once the card-giving occasion has passed, unlike so many greeting cards that are quickly recycled or thrown into the trash.

Check out this company and Shari’s gorgeous artwork. The section on cowgirls is awesome.

