“The greatness of a nation and its moral progress

can be judged by the way its animals are treated.”

-Mahatma Gandhi

Old Friends

Growing old has its fair share of ups and downs.

Perhaps more than its share, and often not so fair.

On the up side are some very cool attributes, like life experience, wisdom, and the ability to see the big picture of life. As we age we develop a worldview that is, with any luck at all, kinder and gentler.

On the down side, aging is not for the faint of heart. Growing old takes more courage than I ever imagined.

Ours is still an ageist society, despite the many efforts for enlightenment and change.

Put simply, we don’t value age.

In many situations, old people become invisible.

Treated as if they no longer matter.

And so, it seems are old animals.

This week, September 19 – 25 has been designated “Adopt a Less Adoptable Pet Week” by Petfinder. If you aren’t familiar with this national organization, follow the link. It’s a great group of dedicated people who help rescued animals find their forever homes.

The focus of the week is to shine a light on animals that get passed over for adoption, and of course, to find them good homes.

A study done by Petfinder showed that 30% of the animals not adopted were seniors. Maybe people are looking for the proverbial Fountain of Youth through their pets. I don’t know, but the number saddens me.

Indeed, babies are adorable – human and animal. I’ve already gone on record about that.  But I also find something quite wonderful about people and animals that have, shall we say, been around the block more than once.

If you’ve read me for a while, you know by the title of this blog, and my passionate descriptions of my two old sweeties, and one personable, earless old cat, how I feel.

My life is blessed by the presence of my senior animals. They are my friends, my companions and my teachers. I wouldn’t trade them for anything.

If you’re looking for an animal companion, think about sharing your life with a senior pet. Second hand does certainly not mean second best.

And if adding an animal to your household isn’t on the agenda, think about making a donation to one of the many shelters and rescue organizations that provide respite for abandoned animals.

Here in Fort Collins, with funding resources so scarce, Animal House is fighting for survival. These folks do great work and could use your help.

Thank you!

