Clematis blooming in my garden

Last week something happened in my life that gave me goose bumps. I’m going to tell you this story and ask for your thoughts, your reaction, your interpretation.

But first, you’ll need some background. Early in August I wrote a post about my texting mishap. I was trying to text the phrase thank you and it came out as “tank lama.” You can read about it here if you’d like a quick review of my texting debacle.

Fast forward to last Thursday, the day my post on gratitude appeared. I was getting ready to go to Denver for two days for the Blog Paws conference. It seemed like I had a million errands. Why is it so darned hard to leave town? Okay, that’s a post for another time.

First goose-bumpy event: I was stopped at a light waiting for it to turn green, my mind racing, jumping from one thing to the next that I had to get done in a relatively short amount of time. I was feeling hassled. I was frankly annoyed at having to wait at the light. I had no time to waste. I stared at the license plate on the vehicle in front of me, willing it to move. Then I noticed the license plate. It read, “Tank 1.” I smiled and immediately remembered the whole “tank lama” gratitude thing.

I took a deep breath.

Next goose bumper: Later that day, when I was still feeling stressed because it was growing late and I had many things left on my to-do list, I was again sitting in traffic. Just as we started to move, a pick up truck darted in front of me, practically cutting me off. “What in the world are you doing?” I snarled at the driver, who of course couldn’t hear me. I was irritated at this rude and dangerous driving behavior. Then I looked at what was stenciled on the back of the truck. “Do you want to go tankless?” it asked.

“Whoa,” I muttered.

And I took another deep breath.

Here I am writing about gratitude and then spending my day feeling irritated and stressed out. Hmmm…

I believe I have guardian angels (I call them my guides) and I think this synchronicity of events came from them. It was perhaps a reminder to slow down, breathe and remember to really feel grateful.

I think she or he or they were feeling mischievous and found a funny, yet effective way to get my attention. “Walk your talk” they seemed to shout at me.

And, you know what? It worked. I lightened up and remembered to keep breathing. Instant stress reducer.

So here’s my question for you: Have you had a similar synchronous event? I’d love to hear about it. And where do you stand on the whole guardian angel/guide notion?

P.S. There are no right or wrong answers!

