For the majority of my life, I’ve lived in the west – the land of wide-open spaces and big, blue sky that rolls out endlessly above my head. It’s been part of my life for nearly forever, so I’m embarrassed to admit that sometimes I take it for granted.

A couple of days ago when I was in the pasture feeding our two old sweeties, I commented to Pepper that she lives in an amazing place. The sun was going down, tickling the outline of the foothills in a mélange of purples, oranges, and pinks. The clouds were tinged with the same colors, and had a kind of electric glow going on.

It was stunning.

Breathtaking.

“You are one lucky horse,” I said as I spritzed fly spray on my sweet old mare. “You get to see sunsets like this every day.”

She gave me one of her all-knowing looks as if to agree. “I do live a charmed life,” she would have replied if she could talk. And then I think she would have reminded me that the sky and sunsets are there for me (and you) to see every single day.

Every single day.

It’s just a matter of noticing.

Remembering to pay attention to something besides rushing from errand to errand.

Some years ago, I was driving to an evening meeting, feeling hassled and tired. I wasn’t all that interested in going, but nevertheless I was in my car. At a stoplight I looked up into the sky at the moon. It was full and gleaming yellow.

A big, round, fat moon beaming down at me.

I pulled to the side of the road and just stared into the sky looking at that moon.

After a few minutes, I realized something.

My mood was lighter. I was breathing easier and I felt energized.

All from gazing at the moon.

There’s magic in the sky.

I just forget sometimes.

And if I didn’t have Bud and Pepper to feed, I’d probably forget more often than I do.

How about you?

Are you a sky watcher?

