There are some people who just can’t abide messes. They spend their lives straightening, sorting, picking things up, and cleaning. No one has ever attributed those actions to me, but I know plenty of folks who fit the bill.

You may remember my blog post about the differences in car neatness between my sister and me. Here’s a link if you’d like a refresher. The gist of it is that she’s much neater than I am. In fairness to me, she doesn’t feed horses from her car. But maybe that’s me being defensive.

Well, it turns out that my own dear sweet Miss Pepper is a cleaner.

Or is it gleaner?

We’ve taken to calling her Pepperella or Cinderpepper.

She takes it upon herself to nibble up the stray bits of grain that have been dropped on the tailgate or back of the car. She does this even when her own pan still holds grain.

I think it’s a neatness thing. Really I do.

Pepper doesn’t like messes. She’s an orderly, put together kind of mare.

Bud on the other hand is kind of a slob. It’s usually his grain that she’s cleaning up.

My husband’s theory is that Pepper is stalling for time. The more she fiddles around the truck, the more time she has out of the pasture.

I disagree. I am totally convinced that she has taken it on herself to be the cleaning lady. She doesn’t like all those bits of grain lying about.

It’s messy.

If horses could make a tsk-tsking sound, Pepper would do just that.

Instead she busies herself cleaning, gleaning, whatever.

Sometimes she even licks out the feed pans.

What a girl!

I’ve tried to figure out how to get her to my house, but honestly, I don’t think it would work. So I’m settling for taking cleaning lessons from my mare.

Hey, when the student is ready, the teacher appears.

