I have a confession to share with you.

I’m terrified of the electric fence that runs along the boundary of the pasture adjacent to the one where our sweet old things live.

I come within inches of it every time I open or close the gate.

It scares the bejeebers out of me. I have this irrational fear that I will bump into the white electrified wires and get knocked on my behind.

Or worse.

I don’t even know what would happen.

Or how it would feel.

Other than bad.

Really, really bad.

I recently read an interview with a writer who specializes in thrillers. He commented that he allowed himself to be jolted with a Taser so he would be able to write the experience with accuracy.

Okay. That would not be me.

Ever in a million years.

I’ll switch from my mystery to writing romance novels, or self help books before inviting someone to hit me with a shot of electricity.

For research!

You will never find someone getting tasered in my writing.

Does that mean I’m not a serious writer?

I don’t think so.

I hope not.

My husband suggested I should bump into the fence, just for the experience. He said it might help me get over my fear.

I gave him another of my long-time married couple, what are you thinking looks.

He knew right away that he’d wandered into dangerous marital territory.

He recanted and said he was just teasing.

Trying to get a rise out of me.

It worked.

I also worry about the horses. I fear that Pepper will accidentally brush into the electric fence while she is standing at the truck eating her grain.

Of course that worry is unfounded.

Horses are much smarter than I am when it comes to the electric fence.

They know exactly how far away to stand.

They can sense the electric current.

Amigo standing a safe distance from the dreaded white wires.

One horse forum I was lurking on suggested that horses use their chin hairs to sense the electricity.

I couldn’t verify that, but it sounded promising.

These days, I have a chin hair or two. But not the powerful sensing ability of a horse.

So I think I’ll stick with my original plan to avoid contact with the fence.

At all times.

Period.

End of discussion.

