“We do not stop playing because we grow old, we grow old because we stop playing.”

-Benjamin Franklin

I love to play. And I have many toys, so that I sometimes have trouble deciding which one to play with first.

I’m particularly fond of carrying my toys all over the house and leaving them in unusual places.

This really entertains my people.

I have a tiny purple heart that I frequently leave on Rick’s pillow. I think he likes that. He’s had a kind of tough year and  needs some extra support.

And sometimes I’ll put my yellow mouse in my food dish. Or out on the back deck. But I’m told not to do that because I could lose it.

Mija's toy basket

I’ve been known to play fetch, not like dogs of course, but in my own way. One of my people will throw one of my stuffed toys down the hall and I’ll run to find it. I’m a little slower these days because I have a touch of arthritis, but I still like this game.

Late at night after the peeps have gone to bed, I like to toss a toy into the air and then slide along the hardwood floors to retrieve it. This is a lot of fun. I love to make noise!

I don’t think my people are playing enough. It seems like all they do is work. And I know that’s not good for anyone – feline or human.

I actually think they have forgotten how to play. I want to help them remember, but I’m not sure how to do it.

I sit on their laps and whisper cat talk reminders about  how much fun it is to play, but I don’t think they can understand.

Do you have any suggestions how I can help?

Meow (Thank you!)

Oh, and Happy Wednesday.

