Another potcast from Mija

In the fifteen years that I’ve lived with my people, I still find that there are times when they just don’t understand what I’m trying to tell them.

I don’t blame anyone.

I am well aware of how difficult interspecies communication is.

As an observer of human-to-human communication, let me tell you, I’ve seen a lot of missed opportunities that just plain didn’t need to happen.

It’s rather amazing really since humans have so many ways to communicate: Cell phones, texting, writing, telephones, computers, and of course, face-to-face. Still, with all those options, effective communication doesn’t always happen.

I think humans could learn a thing or two from cats when it comes to the fine art of communication. I’ve organized my thoughts into this list of tips.

  1. If it’s important, say it more than once. Never assume they heard you the first time.
  2. There’s no need to growl. Just repeat. If that doesn’t work, you may have to increase your volume – but just a little.
  3. Find different ways to say the same thing.
  4. Be consistent. Oh, and build in communication routines. For example, when you’re talking to them in the kitchen there’s a good chance you’re telling them you’re hungry. Though I have been known to be hungry and say so when I’m in another room of the house. But it is harder for my humans to understand.
  5. Reward their attempts at understanding you with affection. I always try to purr and cuddle in response to my people’s attempts to get what I’m saying. Even when they aren’t quite on the money.
  6. Never hold grudges. This is especially true with people you love, but it’s good advice for everyone.
  7. Always give the benefit of the doubt. They are trying. So if they gave you crunchy food when what you had was a taste for a fish flake, forgive them and ask again. Nicely. They will eventually get it
  8. Keep at it. This communication business is challenging. But that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t do it.

Let me know what you think of my tips. And do you have others to add? We could start a big old list.

Happy Wednesday!

