Bud absolutely loves this little treat. I mean to say he adores, is crazy about, goes gaga over horse candy.

Like good parents, we insist that he finish his grain before he gets to eat candy. Since he’s a food gobbler, as described in an earlier post, he can dispatch his pan of grain in short order.

That’s when he starts nosing around the candy bucket.

On many occasions, he’s been able to use those prehensile lips to open the lid, if I’m not paying close enough attention. The candy goes flying to the ground and Bud does his best imitation of innocence.

“Oops.” The look on his face tells me he’s as surprised as I am.

“I was just trying to get a little snack. I have no idea why the whole darn bucket of candy is on the ground.”

He noses around and then, never one to pass up a snack, he plucks one or two or twenty from the dirt. Life doesn’t get much better than this.

In his younger years, feeding treats to Bud was like plugging a parking meter with dimes. You just kept on feeding the meter, one after the other. He did a bang up imitation of a squirrel, with his cheeks packed with candy.

These days, he’s slowed down a bit because of his teeth. He’s missing a couple on the bottom, which make chewing more difficult. Translation: there’s a LOT of spillage.

But spillage or no, we have a routine, and as far as Bud is concerned, the routine is everything. First grain, and then horse candy.

Never deviate from the plan.

Never.

If you’re wondering about Pepper, she also loves horse candy.

What’s not to love?

A little grain and filler, nutrients and sweetness. Sugar and molasses are what make her tail fly up.  Most horses have a real sweet tooth and ours are no exception.

I can relate.

And by the way, I’m not promoting this product. Ranch-way feeds doesn’t even know I exist. I’m just tellin’ you what my horses like.

