I had to look twice as I drove past the paddocks on my way to the pasture.

“Is that a goat in there?”

I said this to no one in particular, since I was alone. I stopped the car and peered into the fenced enclosure.

“Yep, it’s a goat.”

This may seem the most unlikely pairing since the 1988 movie Twins, which featured Danny DeVito and Arnold Schwarzenegger as twin brothers trying to find each other.

Come to think of it, they do look alike.

Yeah, right.

Three small white horses and one gnarly looking black goat, were quite happily sharing the same living space. The goat didn’t seem to be worried at all about getting stepped on or fighting for hay. There he was, plopped in the middle of the paddock, grooving on the sun and flanked by his horse bodyguards.

It turns out goats are often used as companion animals for horses. For years, racehorses have been paired with goats. Apparently, goats have a calming influence on the often tightly strung horses. It also gives the horse, and maybe the goat, the feeling of being in a herd. Racehorses live solitary, hard lives.

So what if your herd consists of one horse and one goat?

It’s still your herd.

Your peeps.

And that’s important.

You’ve probably heard the expression, “He’s got your goat.” It originated in the horse/goat world. Sometimes an unscrupulous competitor would kidnap a racehorse’s companion goat before a race. It would upset the horse and give the kidnapper’s horse an advantage.

Don’t get me started on horse racing or this will be a very long post. Maybe another time when I’ve had more coffee.

I’ve been super busy with work lately and I’m missing my own peeps. I haven’t taken the time for coffee or lunch or phone calls with friends. Now I’m paying the price, because I feel like a horse without a goat.

I think I know how those racehorses that lost their goats must have felt.

How about you?

Are you spending enough time with the people who matter?

