I recently heard from a friend/colleague who I haven’t been in touch with for awhile. He’d read this blog and shared comments with me. It felt good, because he totally got me. He understood what I was attempting to do. And in three or four sentences, he summarized it perfectly.

Even though we see each other infrequently, he is one of my peeps.

Part of my tribe.

For the first five years of his life, Bud lived in Iowa with a buffalo. He thought he was a buffalo, albeit one with appaloosa markings.

I didn’t know him during his buffalo days, but Rick tells me that the transition from having a buffalo as your BFF to living in a herd with other horses was rough on young Bud.

He missed his big, furry friend.

And the horses were doing a real number on him.

That is until he realized he was younger and stronger than the others, and could kick the you-know-what out of all contenders. Being the alpha horse started to look pretty darned cool.

Then Bud moved to Colorado where he and Miss Pepper became a herd of two. Since 1991, they have known each other; provided companionship for each other; and comforted each other. Starting to sound like a marriage, isn’t it?

Other horses have come and gone but Bud and Pepper are always at the core of their little herd.

They are together, a unit, a pair, a twosome.

Well there was that time a few years back, when Bud fell madly in love with a little redhead. Pepper hung out with the other mares while Bud and Rosie walked around the pasture like they were stuck together with Velcro. I’m certain that Pepper and her friends were dishing dirt about Rosie. They looked like a gaggle of middle school girls, their heads together, watching the lovebirds.

The romance didn’t last long. Pepper knew Rosie was nothing more than a flash in the pan. Soon enough, Rosie moved away and Bud and Pepper were back to their herd of two.

Just a couple of years ago, it was Pepper’s turn for a dalliance. The object of her affection, you wonder?

A mustang.

A big, muscular, redheaded bad boy. We nicknamed him Red, since we didn’t know his real name. We’re creative that way!

And oh, did she love him. I’m saving the juicy details for a separate, slightly R-rated post. You’ll have to keep reading to catch up on that little romance.

Suffice to say, the mustang was her world. She ignored Bud. And he ignored her right back. Way to show her, Bud!

These days, the romance has waned. Pepper lives in a herd of three geldings, including Bud and Red. They protect her from the rambunctious upstarts who live in the same pasture. We like them for that.

She is as likely to follow Bud, as Red.

They are her peeps. Her herd. Her tribe.

It’s something we all need. I notice the older I get, the more I need to connect with people who really know me. How about you?

P.S. What is it with our horses and redheads? I’ll have to think on that one.

