Bud’s best friend these days is Amigo – a sorrel gelding with a white blaze on his face. He has two round black circles on his nose that make him look kind of cute and goofy at the same time.

When we first met Amigo, Rick was calling him “Colon Nose.” You can bet I stopped that right away!

Sheesh.

Amigo earned his nickname because of his loyalty. He’s one of those friends who is always there. He’s a horse you can count on.

I don’t know this for a fact, but I’m pretty sure that Amigo pumps iron. He must have a gym membership somewhere, because this boy is ripped. Even his muscles have muscles. He’s younger than his friend Bud, and the difference in their muscle tone is obvious.

Sorry Bud, but it’s true.

Amigo is younger by at least ten years.

He could easily be the leader of this herd and frankly kick the crap out of anyone who challenges him.

But he yields to Red, the mustang who is the herd boss.

Amigo seems content in his place as second in command.

I think he protects Bud and I love him for that.

Bud has a bodyguard.

Who knew?

One day last spring when we were in the pasture, we saw Amigo being led by one of his people. He was carrying two little girls on his back. As we got closer we saw that he had an orange cone-shaped birthday hat strapped on his head.

“Is it Amigo’s birthday?” I called out as we drove past.

The young woman leading him shook her head. “No. Today he’s being a unicorn.” The little girls riding him giggled. I couldn’t help but smile along with them. It was pretty sweet.

Unfortunately, Amigo had a look on his face that seemed to say, “If you tell anyone about this, you’re dead.”

I nodded, as if to assure him that his secret was safe with me.

It’s a good thing he doesn’t read this blog.

Here’s this big, muscular horse pretending to be a unicorn and carrying two little giggling girls around the pasture on his back. I totally fell in love with him at that moment. I think it was the look on his face.

What’s not to love about Amigo? He’s loyal, handsome, strong, and has a good sense of humor. He’s a wonderful friend.

Bud’s lucky to have such a friend. It makes me think about my friends and feel deeply grateful to have each one of them in my life.

How about you? Do you have an Amigo?

I hope so.